
Certified copies are $20.00  

Birth Record Requests 

● Birth year of 1990 to present can be obtained at any County Recorder’s office 
● Births occurring before 1990 have to apply in the county where the birth occurred; however 

please note that single parent births & adoptions that occurred before 1990; births between the 
years 1921 to 1941 will have to contact the Iowa Department of Public Health, Bureau of Health 
Statistics to obtain a copy. 

 

Death Record Request 

● Death year from 1954 to present can be obtained in any county regardless of where the death 
occurred. 

● Death year occurring before 1954 must be obtained in the county of death or county in which 
they resided in when they died. 

 

Marriage Record Request 

● Marriage occurring from 1954 to present can be obtained in any county regardless of where you 
applied to get married. 

● Marriages occurring before 1954 must be obtained in the county where you applied to get 
married at. 

 

For any birth, death and marriage records that need to be obtained through the Iowa Department of 
Public Health: contact number information is as follows: VITALCHEK: online call Center for customers 
to order vital records is 1-866-809-0290 and the General Customer line to speak with Vital Records 
staff in Des Moines, Iowa is 515-281-4944. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



Marriage Application Process 

To apply for a marriage license both parties and witness (legal age and acquainted with both parties) 
appear in our office to fill out an application.  Couples getting married please have available your current 
government issued ID, your social security number which is required by law, and payment for 
application is $35.00.  The witness needs to have a current government issued ID as well.  

The license shall become valid after the expiration of three calendar days after the date of acceptance. If 
the license is not retrieved from the County Registrar within six months from the date of application, the 
application is considered null and void. When the marriage license date is computed, the day of 
application is excluded. 

Valid date of marriage license is as follows:  

DATE OF APPLICATION: Valid Date of License: 

Monday Friday  
Tuesday Saturday 
Wednesday Sunday 
Thursday Monday 
Friday Tuesday 
 

 
Contact our office for further details on the application process or questions on any vital records 
request.  

 
 

 
 

 

 


